LeiaPlayer - Lume Pad 2 vs Lume Pad 'Classic'

just got the Lume Pad 2 (and also own 2 Lume Pad 1s, a.k.a. ‘classic’).

peronsally as a visual artist i use it basically exclusively to showcase my art in 3D, thru LeiaPlayer.

so i put the same (literally the same, identical) videos on Lumepad 2.
playing the videos in 3D my observation is that one of the main issues of Lumepad 1 has been resolved: ‘pulsating jerkyness’ (if i may call it that) on L1. meaning that some (smooth in 2D) videos appear unsteady/jerky/pulsating when in 3D. i assumed that that has to do with computing power, but on the other hand since there are less pixels to fill on L1 it shouldn’t matter that much.
now comes the question: does the LEIA PLAYER come in a different/updated version in L2 vs L1? or is it really just the computing power of L2 which smoothes out those issues.
i had noticed that on L1 the apps in the Leia appstore never got updated, so should the LEIA PLAYER on L2 be a different one than on L1: how do i update my L1.

other observations (just to put them somewhere, as i just unboxed L2):

• does LEIA PLAYER not follow the auto rotation guidance i set up in android? (or: how do i rotate a portrait image automatically or manually?)
  • L2 is rather heavy; maybe a holder should be developed to - for example - place it on a wall in an art gallery setting.

Hey @TomasLoewy,

The version of LeiaPlayer for Lume Pad 2 is a completely different version than on the original Lume Pad.

We had to completely change our SDK and rendering due to the differences in the optics.

The resolution of Lume Pad 2 and the original is actually the same, but the optical structure and the chipset in Lume Pad 2 is about twice as powerful.

Lume Pad 2 only supports landscape orientation in 3D mode, so all 3D apps run in landscape mode by default.